Nonsensicality and Visitations

Like most of the sane population, I’ve never been a big fan of Mondays. In general, no one is more excited to see the week draw to a close than me. But this week I’ve got quadruple the reasons to be excited because MY SISTER’S FINALLY COMING TO VISIT ME AT HOFSTRA!!!! AAAAAAH!

We love each other, really.

We love each other, really.

I actually can’t contain my excitement. And I know sometimes she reads this, so don’t let it go to your head or anything, but I’m dying. …. Of aforementioned excitement.

Of course I’m super stoked to get to see my little sister and show her around my second home, but more-so I can’t wait to see people’s reactions to this girl because if I seem a little crazy and high-strung, I’m absolutely nothing compared to my younger sibling. It’s going to be fantastic!

Anyways, as I count down the days to Friday (I literally have a countdown…)

4 days to go!

I’ve been on a bit of a poetry kick so I’ve got some writings to share. I’ve been trying lately to shake the traditional, school-learnt rules of poetry and concentrate not necessarily on getting the words or the form right and instead focusing on the sound, which has had some interesting results. Here’s one I scribbled down during Computer Science and, while it’s a little unorthodox, I’m kinda liking this whole lets-throw-scheme-and-such-out-the-window approach:

Nonsensicality

(Or For Those Who Don’t Listen)

Leap splish-splashing reckless white caps slapping stones

like the rain pelts the roof

and the shore drinks the tide

and the sun burns what’s green,

catching dizzy-bright starlight ‘neath the shade-striped palm trees.

Glinting time-stop in surfaces smooth and slate shy

with their own lack of form so they throw back the sky,

and they’re desperate for shape

and they’re desperate for touch

so they slip-slide and cliff-dive

and spin skin pink-flushed.

Blowing dizzy-dance bubbles

bursting –POP– in the breeze

sweeping sweet scents and jazz hymns

whisp’ring stand-tall decrees.

Not a shine-free-slide-loose-half-strong-sound-daring-spark-fuse

could for all conscience-warnings find words to refuse.

Haha, so I swear there’s an actual meaning here, but I’ll just leave you to puzzle it out.

Because I’m sure you’re all just dying to know.

Till next time!

– Amy

I swear

2 thoughts on “Nonsensicality and Visitations

Leave a Reply!

