Cookie-Palooza

Recently my mom, unfortunately, had to undergo surgery. As an art teacher, this meant she was out for a few months to recover. During this time she became fearful that the newer, younger, hipper sub would usurp the hearts of her impressionable high school classes. And thus she concocted a genius plan to win them back over; enlist her oldest daughter to bake cookies for every single student.

Of course the original plan was to go through a few bags of Tollhouse mix but I,unbelievably bored after two weeks home from college with basically nothing to do, decided to go a step further and embark on what I like to call:

Cookie-Palooza

The plan was to create four different types of, collectively, 100+ cookies to be distributed throughout her art classes. The hard part was really sifting through my ridiculous amount of unused cookie recipes to come up with some exciting but not terribly experimental options. I finally decided on the following:

1. Gingerbread Chocolate Chip Cookies – Just like you might guess from the name, chocolate chip cookies with a gingerbread-like dough. Wanting to spice up the traditional chocolate chip cookie (pun unintended but appreciated), I found this recipe floating around the archives and thought it was interesting enough to try but normal enough to not scare off high school kids.

I got the recipe here from www.sugarhero.com, where pictures of ooey-gooey molasses-darkened cookies temptingly laid out alongside what I imagine as chai-spiced hot chocolate drew me in. You can watch the cookie-making process in the delightful slideshow featured below:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2. Red Velvet Cookies – Probably the least adventurous of the crop, but who doesn’t love a good red velvet crinkle cookie? I know I do. I always feel using a recipe with a ready-made mix base is a bit of a cop-out, but I had three other recipes to get through here so I thought I could cut myself a little slack. The recipe came from Duncan Hines and required only 3 real ingredients: a box of Duncan Hines Red Velvet cake mix (obvi), 2 eggs and 1/3 cup vegetable oil. Simplicity can be nice for a change. 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3. Chocolate Peanut-Butter No-Bake Cookies – I originally got this recipe from a friend, but found an identical one online to share and OHMYLORDARETHEYAMAZING. Like, cookie perfection, not lying to you. If it helps convince you further, they were the first ones to go, and we all know how much high schoolers love food.

They’re scrumptious, unbaked concoctions of sugar, cocoa, milk, butter, peanut butter and oatmeal. Yummmmm. And the best part? You can eat all the dough before you even make the cookies and not feel a bit guilty (or rather, you might feel guilty, but at least you don’t need to worry about salmonella…)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4. Oreo Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies – This is the one Cookie-Palooza recipe I’ve actually done before, and posted about before, so I already knew they were amazing (although I might’ve forgotten exactly how amazing). Again, I used the recipe from Picky Palate (this woman should be considered a baking Messiah. Patron Saint of Baking. Really good baker.) with drool-inducing results. Although it is slightly worrying that we, as a society, feel the need to sandwich sandwich cookies in between chocolate chip cookies. ‘Murica.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And so that’s it, the four unique baking excursions that joined as one to deliver unto us Cookie-Palooza. This might have to become an annual thing (so much consumed raw cookie dough, no regrets). And below is the awe-inducing finished product:

What can I say, every once in a while a girl has to go crazy and bake an obscenely prolific amount of cookies. We all get that urge, right?

Right?

Leave a Reply!

