Film OverSaturation

So a while ago (and by a while I mean a really, really, really really really long time) I put together a lovely, elaborate list of the top 11 (I’m having some trouble understanding my past self’s thought process behind that number)upcoming movies I was most excited to see. 5 of these movies have now been released, and 3 are tumbling hot on their heels towards beautiful releasementship (these latter 3 would be Brave, Bourne Legacy and Perks of Being a Wallflower, in that order).

With the end of the school year I’ve recently come into a little free time, and obviously desperate for a way to fill it all up, I decided I might revive my poor, neglected blog with not only an updated list but some quality reviews through which to share my praises and gripes with the films in question.

I thought I’d begin with the new and improved list, seeing as it’ll be the easiest to get out of the way and I’m anxious to have something posted after a roughly three-month hiatus.

So let’s see, my List-of-Movies-Most-Currently-Highly-Anticipated-By-Amy, Part 2.

10. The Dark Knight Rises

Okay, originally this was going to be on my first top 10 list, but I took it off because my top 10 list was at 15 movies and I kind of figured it went without saying. But you know what, I’m putting it up here now. I. Am. Pretty. Excited. I enjoyed Batman Begins, loved The Dark Knight (who didn’t?), and am super stoked for the third and final installment. The fact that Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Tom Hardy and Marion Cotillard (plus director Chris Nolan makes this a lovely little Inception reunion) are involved only amped up my excitement. My only reservation, and I don’t think I’m alone in this, would be the inclusion of Anne Hathaway. I’ve always been a fan of the girl but lately she’s been picking up a lot of parts that just don’t seem to fit (Once, what exactly possessed her to sign up for Valentine’s Day, and don’t even bring up Fantine around me or I will go postal). But the movie’s got too much in its favor to not be good, and I for one am dying to know if big bad Bane will or will not ‘break The Bat.’

9. Moonrise Kingdom

Yesssss, I know, it’s already out, has been for a while. This is another one that totally should’ve been on that last list, not quite sure why I cut it since I was entirely in love within the first twenty seconds of the trailer (“No, I said, what kind of bird are you.”) But yes, I am super psyched to get out and see this highly-praised Edward Norton/Wes Andersen collaboration.

8. Prometheus

Yes, also already out. But don’t tell me after all you’ve heard you’re not super psyched to check out this Alien-esque thriller starring the amazing Noomi Rapace, goddess Charlize Theron, and the ever-cool Michael Fassbender.

.

.

7. Lincoln

Not gonna lie to you, if this movie had any other cast I probably wouldn’t be interested at all. I mean, sure, Lincoln’s a fascinating individual, but I know all about that from biographies and history classes. Do I really need the passages of my high school text book filmed and edited and retold (in a slightly less faithful fashion, I’m sure) on a movie screen? Well, since Daniel Day Lewis will be playing Lincoln himself with a supporting cast including Joseph Gordon Levitt (I don’t know if you’ve noticed a trend here, but I really love Joseph Gordon Levitt) and Lee Pace, I’m gonna say it couldn’t hurt. And while yes, the ‘other’ Lincoln movie (Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter) looks pretty entertaining, I’m not exactly expecting the quality I’m hoping to get out of this one.

6. Cloud Atlas

This is one I’ve been eyeing for a while, and while it’s seen the loss of a few names that were previously attached (Ian McKellen, Natalie Portman) there are still plenty to go around (Tom Hanks, Hugo Weaving, Jim Sturgess, Susan Sarandon, Halle Berry, Hugh Grant, Jim Broadbent and Ben Wishaw all have roles). I’m sorry to admit that I haven’t actually read the book yet, but I’ve heard only good things and the premise sounds beyond intriguing. So obviously getting my hands on the novel is a prerequisite to viewing the movie, but I have faith that I’ll find quality both in the paperback version of the story and its upcoming film adaptation.

5. Gangster Squad

Suave mobsters, 40’s fashion and the presence of Emma Stone, Josh Brolin, Giovanni Ribisi, Sean Penn,

Anyone else getting a ‘Reservoir Dogs’ vibe?

Anthony Mackie and, of course, Ryan Gosling have earned this otherwise rather nondescript film a spot on my movie-radar. Previously the upcoming ‘Wettest County’, recently retitled ‘Lawless’ (coincidentally also the name of another movie on this list, which I assume will have to be changed in response) was filling my 30’s-40’s era gangster movie quota, but the release of a decidedly underwhelming trailer has dampened my excitement. So Ryan Gosling, I’m just saying, you better pull through for me on this one!

4. Spring Breakers


So give me a moment to explain myself. I know, I know – a movie starring a bunch of previously squeaky-clean tween queens (Selena Gomez, Heather Morrison of Glee, Ashley Benson and Vanessa Anne Hudgens) partying hard and getting themselves involved in crime, sex and drugs sounds extra-sleazy. And I’m sure it is extra sleazy, and there’s absolutely no way I would even consider seeing it except for the fact that Harmony Korine is writing and directing. Korine’s never been known for subtlety (man loves his shock value), but there’s no denying his movies leave a strong impact. This is the writer/director of Gummo and the writer of Kids we’re talking about here. I don’t know for sure if his movies have something to say, but he’s very good at convincing his audiences that they do. The fact that the likes of Hudgens and Selena Gomez would sign on for a Korine movie is absolutely mind-boggling, and that’s why I’ve just gotta see it.


3. Lawless or Untitled Terrence Malick Project #2

If you remember, my last list included an Untitled Terrence Malick Project starring Rachel McAdams and Ben Affleck. Whereas that film has been titled ‘To the Wonder’ (no idea what that could possibly mean), it is not in fact the Untitled Terrence Malick Project listed above. That would be the tentatively titled Lawless, which will star Ryan Gosling, Natalie Portman, Christian Bale, Rooney Mara, Cate Blanchett, Wes Bentley and Haley Bennett (that cute girl from Music and Lyrics whose career I’ve been inexplicably awaiting to take off for a while). And of course, as you might have gathered through very keen perception, it will be directed by Terrence Malick. Basically, if this movie were ice cream, it would be a Frozen Haute Chocolate (you know, that $25,000 sundae with the edible gold and the diamond spoon?). The plot summary reveals only this: “Two intersecting love triangles. Sexual obsession and betrayal set against the music scene in Austin, Texas.” Considering the aforementioned factors, how could this movie possibly be anything but fantastic? (As a side note, Malick’s third slated love story, Knight of Cups, sounds pretty promising too)

2. The Great Gatsby 

Okay, I know, I know, I’m such a hypocrite. If you read my first list you’ll know I included the latest Great Gatsby adaptation as one of my three ‘to be avoided at all costs’ movies for the year, on the grounds that previous attempts have been complete and utter failures and that Baz Luhrmann’s unorthodox approach to filmmaking didn’t really seem to jive with the tone of the classic novel. But I should first explain that despite my misgivings I’m a huge Luhrmann fan (Moulin Rouge, Strictly Ballroom and his ever polarizing Romeo + Juliet are among some of my favorite films) , and although I didn’t think his style would be a match the trailer completely swept me away. I know there are already rumblings about the modern music and the weird editing and such, but that’s just Luhrmann. You love him or hate him, and if you’re in the latter category you will without a doubt detest this movie as Luhrmann’s artistic stamp absolutely consumes every project he’s involved in. And since I admittedly love him, as well as Leonardo DiCaprio, I’ve decided to officially be excited. I am a little miffed, however, concerning some of the casting. Carey Mulligan seems all wrong as Daisy, pixie cute as opposed to delicate, manipulative and devastatingly beautiful. Tobey Maguire just didn’t come off well as the overwhelmed and somewhat detached Nick Carraway, and his choice of a Jordan Baker couldn’t appear more bland (and now that I’ve typed that watch her become next year’s Jessica Chastain). Anyways, I’m a little nervous about getting my hopes up but after the trailer I can’t help but be excited for Luhrmann’s latest project.

Django is Off the Chain.

1. Django Unchained

Oh my goodness gracious, I’m actually incapable of expressing to you exactly how much I am looking forward to this movie. I’ve never met a Tarantino film I didn’t like, and if you’ve seen the trailer you might share in my excitement (that shot of the blood on the white flowers and, oh my god, Leonardo Leonardo Leonardo). I can’t wait I can’t wait I can’t wait.

Feel more than free to chip in with your own comments and movie additions. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Film OverSaturation

  1. OMG ~ The Zebu is back! And with a terrific description of movies at that. Django looks like it will be off the chain and off the planet. I will also recommend to you “Stolen” about the Gardner heist over 20 years ago.
    xxxooo

  2. Pingback: That Time Again | The Zebu

Leave a Reply!

