Books, Baking and Bon Jovi

One More Thing…

It’s been an interesting week.

I think I’m finally getting used to a 4 AM to 1 AM schedule. The secret, I’ve learned, is pretty much making time to pass out whenever available. My alarm clock = my new best friend. I should give it a name. I don’t know, do alarm clocks come off as more feminine or masculine to you? I’m digging ‘Shelby’, personally.

Speaking of feminine vs. masculine, French class. Why, you fanatical Francophones? Do tables really exude effeminate qualities? Who decided that my copy of Virgil’s The Aeneid must be of the male persuasion? I just don’t understand. (A side note: Turns out Shelby is actually  Sheldon. Awkward.)

I got to see Rock of Ages yesterday! (Hence Bon Jovi in    the post title. Because they sang one of his songs, and his  name starts with a ‘B’. 🙂 ) I was thinking about writing a  review, but the thing is there isn’t really much to  write  about. Not that it was bad; I mean, the story’s about as  unoriginal as you can get, but the thing is, it wasn’t  about the story! It’s about crazy eighties music and  having fun, and sometimes having a good  time is  vindication enough without having to explore the nature  of justice or lost innocence, or any other stereotypically ‘  profound’ topic. And I could spend a whole review trying  to explain that, but this just seems easier.

I can’t exactly say the same for the movie coming out, though; I mean, the stage version works because you’re in a theater, part of a crowd, singing along to the songs and swept up in the energy, more like a concert than a musical. That doesn’t work for a movie. A movie needs a plot.

And I actually did manage to get around to cooking something this week!! Check it out!! 😀

That’s right, legit devil’s food cake cupcakes made straight from the box, hand-frosted by yours truly. Psssh, who said cooking in college is difficult? (I mean, I did, but that’s beside the point.)

Oh, I almost forgot! I have a new favorite word to share with you. 🙂

‘Tarantism’ – noun
A mania characterized by an uncontrollable impulse to dance.

English is just so wonderful in so many ways.

Till Monday,

– Amy

🙂

One thought on “Books, Baking and Bon Jovi

  1. Yum, cupcakes! Hey, I made your banana bread yesterday to use up some old bananas. They were super ripe (you wouldn’t have touched them!), so it came out really smooth and banana-ie (is that a word? No, of course not; but why should I care? And what are you, the language police?)

    You still need to tell us the whole story of last night! But we’ll get to that later. For now… another amusing and interesting blog, and I’m really enjoying this. Keep it up!

    But, um… make sure you get some sleep. Now and then.

Leave a Reply!

