‘Where Heaven Meets the Earth’

I love traveling.

Well, I haven’t really gone anywhere yet, but I love the idea of traveling! When I was little, I dreamed like every kid of a trip to Paris, or London, or the Bahamas, and while they’re all amazingly beautiful places, I’ve since learned that there’s a lot more world to discover than just the biggest dot on the map.

So I thought I’d dedicate Tuesdays to showcasing all the places I hope to someday visit, a kind of geographical wish list. I’m sure you’ll recognize some of them, but most of them (hopefully!) will be new, and maybe give your inner explorer a little inspiration. 🙂

I wasn’t sure if I should save it for later, but I decided to start out with my number one dream destination:

The Salar de Uyuni, Bolivia

No, you’re not looking at a painting, or some computer-rendered image; you’re looking at the world’s largest salt flat, part of the Bolivian Altiplano.

The Salar de Uyuni is simply beautiful beyond expression. Every time I see a photograph, it takes my breath away all over again! Allow me a moment of gooey sentimentality; the images conjure up emotions difficult to place, though no less powerful for their lack of a name.

To make a tie-in to my last post, I think these pictures look a little bit like what a Cat Steven’s song feels like, or maybe a Jack Johnson melody (everything ties back to music 🙂 ).

The Salar’s surface is covered by a thick salt crust (the plane contains more than 10 billion tons of salt), which cloaks 50% to 70% of the world’s lithium preserves lying underneath.

It’s a thin layer of water present in the rainy season that coats the plane and lends it the appearance of the sky meeting the earth. But even during the dry season, when the water recedes, the Salar de Uyuni still displays a striking beauty. Salt is actually raked into pillars, akin to those of the Dead Sea, to be dried and then transported. These mounds keep up the appearance of sky-meets-the-earth nearly as well as the water with their pristine white, cloud-like shapes.

Salt pillars in the Salar de Uyuni.

I have faith that one day I’ll get to visit the Salar for myself. 🙂 I guess the only question left is when! Part of me wants to jump on a plane tomorrow, but the other part feels that a visit to a place so spiritual calls for a particular sort of occasion. I guess time will tell. 🙂

Anyways, to conclude; there are thousands upon thousands of beautiful places in the world, but for me, the Salar de Uyuni remains unrivaled, and that’s why I had to share it with you!

I’ll leave you with one last image:

(For more photos of the salt flats, check out http://www.atlantisbolivia.org/tunupagallery.htm  ,  http://tunari.tripod.com/landscapes.html), and http://www.amusingplanet.com/2011/08/salar-de-uyuni-in-boliva-worlds-largest.html)

2 thoughts on “‘Where Heaven Meets the Earth’

  1. I’ve travelled a great deal in my life, as you well know, but you’ve managed to highlight an area I’ve never visited, or even heard of.

    You’re off to a good start on your blog; keep up the good work and make me proud.

Leave a Reply!

