Excursions in Cake-Making

I’ve got a lot of stuff I’ve been meaning to post up here, but this has got to take precedence.

The reason it takes precedence is because, obviously, it relates to food (surprised?).

For an upcoming family gathering (which I’ll be leaving for in a few hours) I was charged by my padre with creating a delicious culinary confection. Obviously I took this request very seriously, and entered the primary stages of provision planning.

Since we’re entering summer and temperatures have averaged out the past few weeks into the 70’s, I thought what was really called for were some summer flavors. And that’s how I decided on a lemon cake paired with raspberry buttercream frosting to result in a (hopefully) scrumptious pink lemonade cake! Yum. :)

I picked this fabulous recipe from Cookies and Cups, using the cake recipe and glaze but minus the frosting:

http://cookiesandcups.com/lemonade-cake-with-lemon-cream-cheese-frosting/

And swapped for this frosting recipe instead:

http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/raspberry-buttercream-frosting-10000001879938/

I have carefully documented my lovely cake’s journey from a mere bowl of dry ingredients to palatable perfection (Yes, perfection. I never exaggerate.).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And in case you didn’t feel like sitting through my entire riveting slideshow (thanks guys), here’s a picture of the finished product:

Step 12: Perfection.

I tend to go a little crazy with the decorating in order to cover up the fact that my frosting skills are pretty much nonexistent, so here we’ve got my lemon cake decked out with lemon wedges, raspberries, lemon zest, and lemon-mint leaves from the garden out front. It’s pretty much the cutest cake ever, if I do say so myself.

Well, that’s a lie, this is probably the cutest cake ever:

Damn you, Cookie Monster!

But I’d say mine comes in a close second.

2 thoughts on “Excursions in Cake-Making

Leave a Reply!

